HAVE YOU BEEN CHARGED WITH DUI?
If you've recently been charged with a DUI offense in Tennessee, your blood alcohol content (BAC) had to measure .08 percent or greater to warrant an arrest. This can be a scary experience, especially if you don't believe you were over the legal limit.
Should you fight the charges? Absolutely! Often, individuals charged with DUI mistakenly believe there is no defense to the charges, plead guilty and accept the penalties. However, a DUI conviction can negatively affect your future for years to come. By retaining a lawyer who specializes in DUI, your chances of keeping your license and avoiding a conviction increase considerably. At The Sexton Law Firm, in Knoxville, we have over 25 years' experience defending people against criminal charges such as drunk driving — and we're ready and willing to help you, too.
What Type Of DUI Are You Facing?
The following are some of the areas our firm provides representation in:
- Commercial DUI — Commercial drivers can be charged with DUI and this can leave them with serious penalties and hurt their job.
- DUI with injury — If you were arrested on suspicion of causing a car accident while intoxicated, the extent of the victim's injuries will be taken into account when penalties are assessed.
- Felony DUI — A DUI may be considered a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the details. When it is charged as a felony, the consequences can dramatically increase, and you face the possibility of a serious mark on your record.
- First-time DUI — A first-time DUI charge should not be taken lightly as it can still result in serious consequences. The penalties can include time in jail, steep fines, probation, the loss of your license and more.
- Multiple DUI — Already having one or more DUI convictions on your record can escalate the penalties you face if convicted. Both the minimum and maximum sentences can rise, and the effects of a conviction can be life-changing.
- Out-of-state DUI — A DUI charge in Tennessee may follow you home. Out-of-state charges can be reported to your home state and your insurance rates may be affected.
- Underage DUI — When you are under the age of 21 and found driving with alcohol in your system, you can face severe charges. Even if your blood alcohol content was not above the .08 limit, you are not off the hook. A charge can influence your future, including possible housing and employment opportunities.
How Can An Attorney Help?
At The Sexton Law Firm, we can fight for your rights if you were accused of first-time DUI, multiple DUI, underage DUI, commercial DUI and more. We can mount specific legal defenses on your behalf and fight the charges brought against you. Depending on your situation, we may be able to argue that the initial traffic stop was illegal, the arresting officer did not have probable cause to believe you were under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or the testing of your blood or breath was conducted inaccurately. Your field sobriety test may also have been inaccurate, which would lead to a dismissed case.
There are always possibilities of finding a way to get your charges reduced or dismissed. From start to finish, we are here to fight aggressively for an acquittal on your behalf. Call us today at 865-691-7900 or contact us online to find out how we can help you.